CAC Calculator

Calculate Customer Acquisition Cost, LTV:CAC ratio, and payback period. The three most important unit economics metrics for any business.

Part of our Business Calculators collection.

CAC Calculator

Free online calculator

$

Total sales + marketing spend

$
%

How to Use This Calculator

  1. 1

    Enter monthly sales & marketing spend.

  2. 2

    Enter new customers acquired that month.

  3. 3

    Add revenue and churn for LTV:CAC ratio.

  4. 4

    See CAC, LTV, ratio, and payback period.

CAC & LTV Formulas

CAC = Total S&M Spend / New Customers Acquired
LTV = Avg Monthly Revenue / Monthly Churn Rate
LTV:CAC Ratio = LTV / CAC
CAC Payback = CAC / Avg Monthly Revenue

Benchmarks:
LTV:CAC ≥ 3:1 = healthy
Payback ≤ 12 months = efficient

Example Calculation

Example: $10k S&M, 20 new customers, $99 ARPU, 2% churn

Inputs

salesMarketingSpend: 10000newCustomers: 20avgMonthlyRevenue: 99monthlyChurnRate: 2

Result

CAC: $500 | LTV: $4,950 | Ratio: 9.9:1

$10k / 20 = $500 CAC. $99 / 0.02 = $4,950 LTV.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a good LTV:CAC ratio?
3:1 is the minimum healthy benchmark — you make $3 for every $1 spent acquiring customers. Under 1:1 means you're losing money on every customer. Above 5:1 usually means you're underinvesting in growth.
How do I reduce CAC?
Improve conversion rates (landing pages, sales process), invest in SEO for organic traffic, build referral programs, reduce sales cycle length, and better qualify leads before passing to sales.

Last updated: