CAC Calculator

Calculate Customer Acquisition Cost, LTV:CAC ratio, and payback period. The three most important unit economics metrics for any business.

Part of our Business Calculators collection.

CAC Calculator

Free online calculator

$

Total sales + marketing spend

$
%

How to Use This Calculator

  1. 1

    Enter monthly sales & marketing spend.

  2. 2

    Enter new customers acquired that month.

  3. 3

    Add revenue and churn for LTV:CAC ratio.

  4. 4

    See CAC, LTV, ratio, and payback period.

CAC & LTV Formulas

CAC = Total S&M Spend / New Customers Acquired
LTV = Avg Monthly Revenue / Monthly Churn Rate
LTV:CAC Ratio = LTV / CAC
CAC Payback = CAC / Avg Monthly Revenue

Benchmarks:
LTV:CAC ≥ 3:1 = healthy
Payback ≤ 12 months = efficient

Example Calculation

Example: $10k S&M, 20 new customers, $99 ARPU, 2% churn

Inputs

salesMarketingSpend: 10000newCustomers: 20avgMonthlyRevenue: 99monthlyChurnRate: 2

Result

CAC: $500 | LTV: $4,950 | Ratio: 9.9:1

$10k / 20 = $500 CAC. $99 / 0.02 = $4,950 LTV.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a good LTV:CAC ratio?
3:1 is the minimum healthy benchmark — you make $3 for every $1 spent acquiring customers. Under 1:1 means you're losing money on every customer. Above 5:1 usually means you're underinvesting in growth.
How do I reduce CAC?
Improve conversion rates (landing pages, sales process), invest in SEO for organic traffic, build referral programs, reduce sales cycle length, and better qualify leads before passing to sales.

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